Advanced Search

Communiqué: Commemorative coin - Sections 35(1) and 37(1) of the Bank of Mauritius Act 2004 - 40th Anniversary of the Independence of Mauritius

16 September 2008

Revised 21 November 2022

  1. The Bank of Mauritius announces the issue as from 16 September 2008 of a limited edition of a gold proof commemorative coin of Rs1000 denomination to mark the 40th Anniversary of the Independence of Mauritius.
  2. The design on the obverse of the commemorative coin depicts the front facades of the Government House with the inscription “40th Anniversary of Independence” underneath and the surrounding inscription “ONE THOUSAND RUPEES” and “1968 * MAURITIUS* 2008”
  3. The design on the reverse of the commemorative coin bears an effigy of Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam with the inscription ‘DR THE RIGHT HONOURABLE SIR SEEWOOSAGUR RAMGOOLAM’.
  4. The coin has been minted by Monnaie de Paris, France
  5. The coin will be legal tender in accordance with Section 37(1) of the Bank of Mauritius Act 2004 for a value of Rs1000.
  6. A limited quantity of the gold coin in proof condition will be available for sale at a price of Rs6,000 per coin at the Bank of Mauritius as from 16 September 2008.