Advanced Search

Governors of the Bank of Mauritius

The Governor of the Bank of Mauritius is appointed by the President of the Republic of Mauritius on the recommendation of the Prime Minister, as per section 13 of the Bank of Mauritius Act 2004. The Governor chairs the Board of Directors since the establishment of the Bank of Mauritius in 1967 and the Monetary Policy Committee as from its launch in April 2007.

The Governor is the principal representative of the Bank of Mauritius and is responsible for the execution of the policy of the Board and the general supervision of the Bank.

In the absence of the Governor, the First Deputy Governor acts as Governor and, in the absence of the Governor and the First Deputy Governor, the Second Deputy Governor acts as Governor.

Since the Bank of Mauritius was established in 1967, there have been six Governors.

Current Governor

current governor

Rameswurlall Basant Roi G.C.S.K.
Since December 2014 to present

Past Governors

Mr Aunauth Beejadhur
July 1967 to December 1972
Mr Goorpersad Bunwaree
January 1973 to May 1982
Sir Indurduth Ramphul
June 1982 to March 1996
Mr Mitrajeet Dhaneswar Maraye
April 1996 to November 1998
Mr Rameswurlall Basant Roi G.C.S.K.
First term of office: November 1998 to December 2006
Mr Yandraduth Googoolye
Acting Governor from January 2007 to February 2007
Mr Rundheersing Bheenick G.O.S.K.
First term of office: February 2007 to February 2010
Mr Yandraduth Googoolye
Acting Governor from February 2010 to May 2010
Mr Rundheersing Bheenick G.O.S.K.
Second and third terms of office: May 2010 to December 2014