Advanced Search

The Deputy Governors are appointed by the President of the Republic of Mauritius on the recommendation of the Prime Minister, as per section 14 of the Bank of Mauritius Act 2004. They hold office for a term not exceeding 5 years and are eligible for re-appointment.

Deputy Governors are responsible for the day-to-day administration of the Bank, under the general supervision of the Governor.

The posts of Deputy Governors comprise the First Deputy Governor and the Second Deputy Governor. In the absence of the Governor, the First Deputy Governor acts as Governor and, in the absence of the Governor and the First Deputy Governor, the Second Deputy Governor acts as Governor.

Current Deputy Governors

First Deputy Governor
Mr Yandraduth Googoolye
Since July 2006 to present
Second Deputy Governor
Mr Mahendra Vikramdass Punchoo
Since December 2014 to present

Past Deputy Governors

Managing Director
Mr Donald George Herbert Cook
September 1967 to June 1968
Managing Director
Mr David Chaloner Keys
June 1968 to February 1970
Managing Director
Mr Goorpersad Bunwaree
March 1970 to January 1973
Managing Director
Mr Indurduth Ramphul
January 1973 to June 1982
Managing Director
Mr Ranapartab Tacouri
June 1982 to April 1996
Managing Director
Mr Budheswar Gujadhur
April 1996 to November 1998
Managing Director/ First Deputy Governor
Mr Baboo Rajendranathsing Gujadhur
December 1998 to June 2006
Second Deputy Governor
Dr Ahmad Jameel Khadaroo
February 2007 to February 2010
Second Deputy Governor
Mr Mohammed Iqbal Belath
July 2010 to October 2013
Second Deputy Governor
Mr Mohamad Issa Soormally
October 2013 to December 2014