Advanced Search

Composition of the Monetary Policy Committee

Mr Y Googoolye
Mr Yandraduth Googoolye was appointed Governor Designate on 12 December 2017 and Governor of the Bank on 15 January 2018. Governor Googoolye is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Bank and chairs the Monetary Policy Committee.
Prior to his appointment, and since July 2006, Mr Googoolye was the First Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius. He has also acted as Governor of the Bank from 1 January to 13 February 2007 and from 16 February to 20 May 2010, by virtue of the provisions of the Bank of Mauritius Act 2004.
Mr Googoolye joined the Bank of Mauritius in 1985 as Accountant, then became Assistant Inspector of Banks. He was appointed Director-Banking Supervision in 1991 before moving as Director to the Operations Department in 1997. Following a reorganisation of the Department, he became Director-Accounting, Budgeting and Payments System in early 2001. He was the Project Coordinator for the establishment of a Real Time Gross Settlement System for the banking system in Mauritius and was also responsible for the automation of the clearing house. Mr Googoolye is a regular speaker at international conferences on central banking.
Mr Googoolye also served as a member of the Technical Committee of the Mauritius Offshore Business Activities Authority and of the Board of the National Investment Trust. He was the Country Leader for the SADC Payment System Project and member of the SADC Payment System Steering Committee. He was equally a member of the Committee of International Payment Experts on the COMESA Payment System Project.
Mr Googoolye was the former Vice Chairperson of the Financial Services Commission.
Mr M V Punchoo

Mr Mahendra Vikramdass Punchoo was appointed Second Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius with effect from 30 December 2014. He is a member of the Board of Directors and of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of Mauritius. He joined the Bank in 1989 as a Research Officer in the Research Department. Mr Punchoo holds a Maitrise en Sciences Economiques from Université Aix Marseille III, France, and an MSc in Economics from Birkbeck College, University of London.

Professor Sanjeev K Sobhee

Professor Sanjeev K Sobhee is currently Professor of Economics at the University of Mauritius where he is also the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academia). His teaching experience at undergraduate and postgraduate levels goes over two decades essentially in Advanced Macroeconomics, Quantitative Techniques and Public Policy. In addition, he has been actively involved in applied research areas, but not limited to, macroeconomics, public finance and sustainable development. Besides publishing in internationally refereed academic journals, Professor Sobhee has consulted for different international institutions; namely, The World Bank, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), amongst others.

Mr Lim Chang Kwong Lam Thuon Mine
Ms Pricilla Pattoo
Dr S Narrainen

Dr Streevarsen Narrainen is a Senior Economic Adviser at the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development (MOFED), from 2003 to date. He was a Senior Economic Adviser to the Prime Minister of Mauritius between 1996 and 2000 and an Economic Adviser at MOFED between 1989 and 1996. Prior to 1989, he was Assistant Professor of Economics at the University of Winnipeg and at the University of Manitoba in Canada. He holds a PhD in Economics from McGill University, Montreal, Canada, and specialised in Monetary Theory and Policy. He is a member of the MPC since March 2015.

Mr M M Namdarkhan

Mr Mushtaq Namdarkhan is a barrister and Senior Associate at BLC Chambers, a leading Mauritian legal practice. He specialises in corporate restructuring and insolvency, banking and finance and commercial dispute resolution. He spent time in the Equity Capital Markets, Restructuring and Insolvency, Construction Litigation and Tax groups of that firm. He holds an MA (Hons.) in Law and an LL.M (Commercial), both from the University of Cambridge. He is a member of the MPC since March 2015.