Advanced Search


Mr Yandraduth Googoolye, Governor
Mr Yandraduth Googoolye was appointed Governor Designate on 12 December 2017 and Governor of the Bank on 15 January 2018. Governor Googoolye is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Bank and chairs the Monetary Policy Committee.
Prior to his appointment, and since July 2006, Mr Googoolye was the First Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius. He has also acted as Governor of the Bank from 1 January to 13 February 2007 and from 16 February to 20 May 2010, by virtue of the provisions of the Bank of Mauritius Act 2004.
Mr Googoolye joined the Bank of Mauritius in 1985 as Accountant, then became Assistant Inspector of Banks. He was appointed Director-Banking Supervision in 1991 before moving as Director to the Operations Department in 1997. Following a reorganisation of the Department, he became Director-Accounting, Budgeting and Payments System in early 2001. He was the Project Coordinator for the establishment of a Real Time Gross Settlement System for the banking system in Mauritius and was also responsible for the automation of the clearing house. Mr Googoolye is a regular speaker at international conferences on central banking.
Mr Googoolye also served as a member of the Technical Committee of the Mauritius Offshore Business Activities Authority and of the Board of the National Investment Trust. He was the Country Leader for the SADC Payment System Project and member of the SADC Payment System Steering Committee. He was equally a member of the Committee of International Payment Experts on the COMESA Payment System Project.
Mr Googoolye was the former Vice Chairperson of the Financial Services Commission.
Available as :