REPLACEMENT OF NATIONAL CURRENCIES OF THE EURO AREA

The public is hereby informed that with effect from 1 January 2002, Euro banknotes and coins will be introduced in replacement of the National Currencies of the member states of the Euro area.

From 1 January 2002, there will be a maximum period of two months for the withdrawal of the national currencies of the member states of the Euro area, during which time they can still be used. As from 1 March 2002, Euro banknotes and coins will be the only currency accepted in the 12 countries of the Euro area.

The 12 national central banks of the Euro area will exchange, free of charge, national banknotes for Euro banknotes for a minimum period of ten years and national coins for Euro coins for a minimum period of two years.

Members of the public are accordingly advised to take the necessary precautions when dealing with the national currencies of European Union members whose currencies will be swapped for the Euro as from 1 January 2002. A list of those currencies is provided below:

Country	Currency
Austria	Austrian Schilling (ATS)
Belgium	Belgian Franc (BEF)
Finland	Finnish Markka (FIM)
France	French Franc (FRF)
Germany	Deutsche Mark (DEM)
Greece	Greek Drachma (GRD)
Ireland	Irish Pound (IEP)
Italy	Italian Lira (ITL)
Luxembourg	Luxembourg Franc (LUF)
Netherlands	Netherlands Guilder (NLG)
Portugal	Portuguese Escudo (PTE)
Spain	Spanish Peseta (ESP)

BANK OF MAURITIUS 05 JULY 2001