Mr R Basant Roi, GCSK



Mr Rameswurlall Basant Roi, GCSK was appointed Governor of the Bank of Mauritius with effect from 30 December 2014. Governor Basant Roi is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Bank and also chairs the Monetary Policy Committee. He serves as Council Member of the Islamic Financial Services Board and is a Governing Board Member of the International Islamic Liquidity Management Corporation, of which the Bank of Mauritius is a founding member. The career of Governor Basant Roi as a central banker has spanned over a period of more than 30 years. He holds a Masters in Economics with specialisation in monetary and international economics from the Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi, India.

Mr Y Googoolye



Mr Yandraduth Googoolye is the First Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius since July 2006. He is a member of the Board of Directors and of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of Mauritius. He joined the Bank in 1985. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants, UK, and a Fellow of the Association of International Accountants. He is a Council Member on the Financial Reporting Council of Mauritius.

Mr M V Punchoo



Mr Mahendra Vikramdass Punchoo was appointed Second Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius with effect from 30 December 2014. He is a member of the Board of Directors and of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of Mauritius. He joined the Bank in 1989 as a Research Officer in the Research Department. Mr Punchoo holds a Maitrise en Sciences Economiques from Université Aix Marseille III, France, and an MSc in Economics from Birkbeck College, University of London.

Mr G Wong So



Mr Guy Wong So joined the Ministry of Economic Planning and Development in December 1971 as economist and, in September 2006, was appointed Director General of the Ministry. He spent 34 years at the Ministry of Economic Planning and Development. He has been a member of the boards of directors of a large number of parastatal bodies in Mauritius. In March 2009, he was appointed as one of the three full-time members of the Public Bodies Appeal Tribunal. In March 2015, he was appointed member of the MPC.

Mr N Degnarain



Mr Nishan Degnarain is a consultant with a global management consulting firm and has extensive experience advising clients in banking, mining and infrastructure around the world. He has published in academic journals and is a frequent speaker at international conferences such as Harvard Business School's Africa Business Conference and Mauritius International Investment Forum. He holds a Masters in Public Policy in International Development from Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government, and also graduated from the University of Cambridge in Economics and Geography. He is an independent member of the Monetary Policy Committee since March 2012.

Mr M M Namdarkhan



Mr Mushtaq Namdarkhan is a barrister and Senior Associate at BLC Chambers, a leading Mauritian legal practice. He specialises in corporate restructuring and insolvency, banking and finance and commercial dispute resolution. He spent time in the Equity Capital Markets, Restructuring and Insolvency, Construction Litigation and Tax groups of that firm. He holds an MA (Hons.) in Law and an LL.M (Commercial), both from the University of Cambridge. He is a member of the MPC since March 2015.

Dr S Narrainen



Dr Streevarsen Narrainen is a Senior Economic Adviser at the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development (MOFED), from 2003 to date. He was a Senior Economic Adviser to the Prime Minister of Mauritius between 1996 and 2000 and an Economic Adviser at MOFED between 1989 and 1996. Prior to 1989, he was Assistant Professor of Economics at the University of Winnipeg and at the University of Manitoba in Canada. He holds a PhD in Economics from McGill University, Montreal, Canada, and specialised in Monetary Theory and Policy. He is a member of the MPC since March 2015.

Mr P Dinan, CSK, GOSK



Mr Pierre Dinan, CSK, GOSK, was a senior partner at De Chazal du Mee (DCDM) for 20 years until he retired in June 2004. He is currently a Company Director for a number of public companies in the manufacturing and financial services sectors. He is a graduate in Economics from the London School of Economics and Political Science, and a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. He was the founder Chairman of the Mauritius Institute of Directors. He is an independent member of the Monetary Policy Committee since 2007. He has authored three books on the economy of Mauritius.