

BANK OF MAURITIUS

Website: https://www.bom.mu

COMMUNIQUÉ

MONETARY POLICY COMMITTEE

Further to the amendments brought to section 54(1) of the Bank of Mauritius Act 2004 in December 2012 relating to the composition of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC), the MPC has now been reconstituted as follows:

- (i) Mr Rundheersing Bheenick, G.O.S.K, Governor and Chairperson of the MPC, ex officio
- (ii) Mr Yandraduth Googoolye, First Deputy Governor, ex officio
- (iii) Mr Mohammed Iqbal Belath, Second Deputy Governor, ex officio
- (iv) Professor Jeffrey Frankel, James W. Harpel Professor of Capital Formation and Growth Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, USA (foreign member), appointed by the Prime Minister
- Mr Hemraz Oopuddhye Jankee, Economic Consultant and former Chief Economist of the Bank of Mauritius, appointed by the Prime Minister
- (vi) Mr Nishan Degnarain, Consultant, appointed by the Finance Minister
- (vii) Mr Pierre Dinan, C.S.K, G.O.S.K, Consultant, appointed by the Finance Minister
- (viii) Professor Silvana Tenreyro, London School of Economics, UK (foreign member), appointed by the Finance Minister

The meeting of the MPC, initially scheduled for Monday 4 March 2013, is being postponed to Monday 11 March 2013 to complete the appointment formalities and to allow the newly-appointed members time to take stock of the domestic economic and financial environment and to prepare for the meeting.

The post-MPC Press Conference, normally held at the Bank of Mauritius Tower on the day after the MPC meeting, will be held on Wednesday 13 March 2013 at 11.30 hrs as Tuesday 12 March 2013 is a public holiday in Mauritius.